Philadelphia

So I’m at STAGING!!! Flying into Philadelphia, while taking much longer than expected, was nonetheless awesome mainly because my bags did not get lost.

My journey yesterday took me from Marquette to Chicago to Detroit to Philadelphia. All three flights were rather turbulent. The flight to Chicago actually landed 15 minutes early, but we had to sit on the tarmac for close to 40 minutes while the plane at our gate was de-iced. Which left me scrambling to get on my next flight to Detroit. Basically I hopped off the plane, sprinted down a few gates, waited in line five minutes and then got on the next plane, which thankfully was slightly delayed again by the de-icing.

I would have gotten into Detroit in plenty of time for my 1:32 p.m. flight to Philadelphia, which was good. However, due to heavy fog at my destination, the flight was delayed hour by hour until by 5:30 p.m. it was canceled entirely. After a brief moment of panic and visions of spending the night in the Detroit airport and/or completely missing my group to Morocco, the airline put me on another flight that was still leaving for Philly, which was originally supposed to leave at 4 p.m. but was delayed until 7 p.m.

Good news is I made it, my bags made it and I had my first cheese steak last night.

Ryan and I outside Geno's Steaks. It was like an episode of Diners Drive-ins and Dives.

Ryan and I outside Geno’s Steaks. It was like an episode of Diners Drive-ins and Dives.

This is from Pat's, right across the street.

This is from Pat’s, right across the street.

My cousins Ryan and B live in New Jersey just a few minutes away from the airport so they were able to come get me and take me to my hotel and then show me around the historic part of the city a bit in the dark. We also got cheese steaks from two different places so I could sample them. Quite delicious, quite filling.

This morning, my roommate and I wandered around the historic downtown area, saw the Liberty Bell (this time in daylight for me) and got coffee and bagels. The Philadelphia Cream Cheese somehow tastes better here.

Starting at noon we have a day of training and introductions, so I’d better get going!

Categories: Staging | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

