July 3, 2013

Things are supposed to slow down a lot here in the summer, but since I’m more than slightly crazy and wanting to meet my chabab (youth), I’m trying to think of fun summer activities to do at our youth center. And since I’m a major nerd, fun = board games. Which we don’t have. Yet.

My new goal for the week is to come up with a set of homemade board games so that I can start having game/activity nights. Right now we have chairs, tables and two chalk boards. Our ping-pong table is broken, so there’s not much reason to come hang out at the dar chabab like you’re supposed to.

My solution? Make the games and they will come.

Memory!

Memory!

Homemade checkers, brought to you in part thanks to my vast experience with salt dough projects as a child.

Homemade checkers, brought to you in part thanks to my vast experience with salt dough projects as a child.

So I’m making checker boards and pieces. Memory. We have a deck of Uno cards. I’m hoping to make chess pieces out of some salt dough I made up last week for the checker pieces. I also want to make some sort of Candyland or other type of board game, so if you have any ideas/tips/suggestions for easy-to-make and fun games, please let me know!

Throughout this process, simple art supplies have become my new best friends. There’s a lot you can do with paper and colored pencils, and thanks to a roll of clear packing tape, I can make things (almost) indestructible. I’ve spent a couple hours now just coloring and taping things, in the hope that my attempts at fun activity creation don’t fall flat. Ramadan is coming – anything could happen, right?

Categories: In site, Morocco | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “July 3, 2013

  1. Dominos are easy to make as well.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

