April 5, 2015

Happy Easter!

I have two weeks left in site and entirely too many emotions to put together a coherent blog post.

Thus, some bullet points in no particular order:

  • I’m mentally preparing myself for the costs of grad school. Mentally preparing myself for the foreseeable future of the cheapest rent I can find and the cheapest food I can stomach. Dave Ramsey makes me want to pay off debts I don’t have yet.
  • A few coats of a light pink nail polish keeps me from biting my nails, which I have been doing for as long as I can remember.
  • My chababs just kicked butt in the Write On! Creative Writing Competition!!!! Out of the 14 of my kids who participated, 7 won regional awards. Out of those seven, two won national awards. I’m so proud.
  • I get to do another library training next week, which will be my last big piece of work.
  • It does not feel like I only have two weeks left.
  • Over the course of my Peace Corps service, I will have read 134 books, provided I finish one book this week and one book next week. 45 in my first year, 72 in my second year, and 15 so far this year, one to finish this week and one next week.
Categories: In site, Morocco, Pre-departure | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “April 5, 2015

  1. Said

    Dear Johanna,

    i have just discovered your blog.

    i am an urban moroccan living in casablanca. I have lived for several years in Paris before comming back home.

    I have read many of your blog post and i think what you have done is in many ways admirable and trully shows the best face of America.

    I know enough the realities of my country to realise how it must have been diffcult and challenging for you in many ways.

    I also think that this kind of involvment and the generosity that drives it, are also what trully helps the world be a better place and creates bridges between cultures and people.

    It had made me think about how, as educated or urban moroccans, we get involved with our own country. Also, about how we can be more active and impactfull towards our communities, especially the most fragile or isolated of them.

    this is a matter that concerns the many ones who lives in the cities, that may have more responsabilities or ability to be part of the change for more social developement and justice.

    I think that your experience, and those of your fellow peace corp voluntears, could also be very interesting for us to learn from. This is a kind of solidarity that deserves to be put as example and inspire us too.

    I am gratefull for your commitment to share your experience through this blog. I think this is something great that would deserve more exposure to moroccan audience too. I will share it around me.

    I wish you all the luck for your next challenges and safe return to your home and family.

    • Hi Said! Thank you for reading my blog. I have really enjoyed living in your country and I am very sad to leave. If you are interested in doing similar work, there is a program called Corps Africa that you might be interested to learn about. Here is their website: http://www.corpsafrica.org/. Good luck to you and thank you!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

